Days 1 & 2

2 Jan

And so begins my “366 Project”.

I guess it might have been more appropriate to have given “Day 1” its very own official post yesterday, but lately (as in the past year I’ve been a mother), I haven’t been awesome at doing things the way that I originally intended to. If you’re reading this and “366-ing” (dirty!) along with me, please tell me I’m not the only one who has forgotten how to do things “the right way”.

Anyway.

Day 1/New Years Day/Olive’s 365th day of being the most awesome baby in the entire world:

pure joy.

Day 2/Olive’s 1st Birthday:

We’ve taken Olive to the aquarium to celebrate every 6 months of her life (so, yes.. a total of TWO times). Our first trip was to the Monterey Aquarium (in Monterey Bay, CA duh!) when she was 6 months-old, but I’m not kidding when I tell you she LOVED it. I mean there was squawking and cooing and hysterical flapping of the arms, the baby could not get enough. So when the subject came up on where we should spend her first birthday, the choice was obvious: the aquarium. This time we chose our local, slightly less lovely, Adventure Aquarium in Camden, NJ (also known as The Most Dangerous City in the U.S.) Olive’s aunts, uncle and cousins came along for the trip so we knew it would be a great time.

Getting to peer into the tanks and being so close to all of the different ocean creatures really excites her. Granted, getting into the recycling also really excites her, so I don’t necessarily see a future career in Marine Biology just yet.. but it was definitely a ton of fun and I already really look forward to our next trip on her 18-month birthday. Maybe Baltimore will be next on our grand tour of state aquariums? It’s only the 11th “Most Dangerous” U.S. city, but the next closest pick is D.C. and traffic there is a friggin’ nightmare.

Stay tuned!

 

2 Responses to “Days 1 & 2”

  1. maxima1979 2012/01/05 at 5:45 pm #

    I love the way you´re writing! It sounds funny! Very sweet your little one ❤

Leave a Reply

