Days 3 & 4

4 Jan

I think more often than not I’ll be posting here on an every-other-day basis.. or something. At least until I can rely on my daily picture-taking as habit and can focus my attention towards reminding myself to set aside a few minutes a day to post an update.

Day 3/When she’s really, really tired:

Image

 I’m fairly certain that she was gabbing about current events and the latest in celebrity gossip with her plush friends when sheer exhaustion overcame her and she fell asleep sitting up. This picture doesn’t do the best job of showing that her head is resting on her wadded-up blankie, sort-of as if she was just sitting there and then keeled over into a deep sleep.

In all honesty, I relish in these moments because they provide me with the ever-diminishing glimpse of what’s left of my baby. While awake, she’s so busy learning and doing new things.. growing older so quickly before my eyes that it’s hard to see any baby left on her at all. Asleep, she is still and quiet and chubby and bald, the same way she’s slept in all of the 367 days. I know that one day she will have a head full of hair and all signs of that precious double-chin will have vanished, but hey, at least I’ll have this picture.

Day 4/I heart mommy:

Image

But no one makes her laugh like Daddy does. 

And nothing can make her drool as much as a couple of brand-new teeth. Sigh.

15 Responses to “Days 3 & 4”

  1. Tricia - The Itchy Eyes 2012/01/05 at 2:17 am #

    Beautiful! I love the top shot in the crib sleeping upright! Lovely capture of a great moment!

    • kelleylee 2012/01/05 at 4:01 am #

      Oh, thank you! Hoping to eventually get a good shot of her asleep sitting completely upright. It’s happened before several times, but I’ve never had my camera on me in the moment!

  2. Gaby 2012/01/05 at 2:20 am #

    I love photos of babies sleeping!
    beautiful.

  3. Kerryn 2012/01/05 at 2:42 am #

    Day 4’s photo is devine. I love watching them when they sleep. So still and peaceful for a short space in time.

  4. Don't Eat The Grapefruit 2012/01/05 at 3:14 am #

    Hahahaha! That is so adorable! Looks like her teddies got a bit sleepy too. I love those little shards of light coming in through the side of the cot. Beautifully shot.

    • kelleylee 2012/01/05 at 4:05 am #

      Thanks! It does appear that all of her “friends” were similarly exhausted, they all just kind of toppled over! Haha

  5. A Year In The Life of Us 2012/01/05 at 3:44 am #

    Love both of these…but the sleeping one is divine!

  6. Nicole 2012/01/05 at 3:56 am #

    Babies are so much fun! What a fun capture.

  7. tazway 2012/01/05 at 4:05 am #

    Oh God, the teething, we’re going through it now too. Every couple of months a few sleepless nights and then another toothie peg pops out. Love the sleeping photo – looking forward to seeing an upright one!

    • kelleylee 2012/01/05 at 4:21 am #

      She’s a year old and we’ve only made it to 6 teeth! It took close to a month for the front two to finally pop through and she’s still drooling up a storm. I’m afraid of what’s to come!

  8. Stacey Harrison 2012/01/05 at 4:54 am #

    That is soo precious of a picture…what a nice smile, and the other one, all sleeping (3rd)…so innocent!! thx for sharing!!

  9. bebg2012 2012/01/05 at 12:29 pm #

    Gorgeous!! They grow up way too fast!!

  10. trisha 2012/01/05 at 9:14 pm #

    I love this picture sooooo much! Your blog is wonderful!

Leave a Reply

