Day 6

6 Jan

Day 6/My little baby beaver:

Remember yesterday when I was talking about the beaded hat that I, ever so responsibly, let my daughter nom on even though the beads could probably come off with all of the gnawing she does on it (those baby teeth are sharp!)?  Well, today I’m going to tell you about her 2nd favorite chew toy: wooden coasters. Wooden coasters that my husband “made” by sawing down a tree branch, bark still on them and everything.
Initially, she loved to just bang them around and throw them at the dog (our poor, pitiful dog), until she learned that the nubby texture of the bark felt good (I guess?) on her aching, teething gums. Now, if she manages to get her mitts on them, they go straight into the mouth. Sigh. I suppose I could hide them away as it’s probably not the best thing for her to be chewing on (witness the bark bits around her mouth), but they bring her such joy!  And then what? We’d have to go hunting for coasters every morning to put our coffee mugs on? Pfft! Yeah riiight!
Yeah, today was one of those days where I had too many “good” pictures to choose from, so I enlisted Eric to help me decide. He chose this one “so that we can remember the short period of time she loved to chew on our coasters”. I’m so glad he gets the whole point of this project, I really picked a good one 🙂

7 Responses to “Day 6”

  1. Shannon 2012/01/06 at 11:40 pm #

    Look at those huge beautiful eyes! You can’t stop the chewing, all you can do is roll with it! 🙂

    • kelleylee 2012/01/06 at 11:43 pm #

      Aww, thank you! Her eyes are definitely the first thing people notice/comment on 🙂
      And you’re right, I’d much rather her chew on some wooden coasters than my cell phone, which is actually her super #1 favorite thing to teethe on. 😉

  2. Ash 2012/01/07 at 1:19 am #

    Oh those eyes! She’s too precious. We’re also in the phase of chewing everything in sight. Oh well:)

    • kelleylee 2012/01/08 at 7:46 pm #

      Oh, thank you! The chewing/drooling/biting-phase is a lovely one, isn’t it?

  3. Sybille 2012/01/07 at 9:35 am #

    adorable little girl. love your words that go with the pics as well… I am not very good at writing (or I need lots of time and inspiration, which I seem to lack at the moment!). Will be following you throughout the year, that’s for sure!

    • kelleylee 2012/01/07 at 10:55 am #

      Thank you! Creative writing has always been an interest of mine and I’m happy to finally have an outlet to use it! I understand what you mean though, I do sometimes find myself in total creative blocks when I can’t seem to pull the right words or ideas together. I will make sure to check in on your blog as well!

      • Sybille 2012/01/07 at 4:37 pm #

        that would be so cool to build your girl’s first bike! Is he going to make one of those balance bikes to start off with?

Leave a Reply

