Days 7 & 8

8 Jan

Day 8/Feeling proud of herself:

I love the way Olive’s eyes get so squinty when she’s trying to tell you something emphatically. She’s mastered very, very few “real” words as of yet, but she has her own language down pat. She’ll hold something up to show you and babble on about it quite loudly, making sure she has everyone’s undivided attention. I love the way she gets so excited for herself and the sense of pride I can see in her when she learns something new. I can already tell that she has this very determined spirit about her, which makes ME excited (and provides me with a small sense of security, to be honest) to see the girl she grows into.

I don’t think this photo requires much explanation, but in case it’s just me: Olive and Penny (the dog) played a game of “How many times Penny will let Olive steal her ball before she takes it back for good and walks away”.  Our dog is such a saint, really.

PS  – here’s one more that I just have to post because my daughter’s eyes are like portals to the soul.

 

Day 8/”Point to Dadda!”

The girl learned all about pointing today (the nice kind, not the rude kind)! I’m sure you can imagine how excited her dorky parents became over this latest achievement and how ridiculous we looked every time we animatedly begged her (in public) to “point to Momma!” or “point to Dadda!”. Super freaking ridiculous. She will even do the “E.T. ‘Phone Home’ point” by touching pointer fingers with us which, as you might be able to imagine, is the most adorable thing ever.  No bias here, it actually IS the most adorable thing ever. One for the books.

8 Responses to “Days 7 & 8”

  1. Claudine 2012/01/08 at 8:27 pm #

    Oh my! What gorgeous eyes she has!!

    • kelleylee 2012/01/09 at 4:34 pm #

      Thank you!! They are the first thing most people comment on 🙂

  2. Erin 2012/01/08 at 8:45 pm #

    My goodness! The picture you added of her with the spoon – the EYES! She’s simply gorgeous!

  3. lovemamaxo 2012/01/08 at 8:59 pm #

    I LOOOOVE the idea of the squinty eyes when she’s trying to tell you something emphatically! I know that look perfectly!! So brilliantly explained!
    And those eyes! Oh! You could swim in those eyes! ❤

    • kelleylee 2012/01/09 at 4:35 pm #

      Thanks!! The best is when she’s trying to talk to you but doesn’t bother spitting out her pacifier, so it sounds like she has a few marbles in her mouth 🙂

  4. Ash 2012/01/08 at 9:37 pm #

    I feel like a big dork when too when I become crazy excited about my son’s little accomplishments. But hey, it’s our job. Good job Olive:)

    • kelleylee 2012/01/09 at 4:37 pm #

      Olive says “thank you” in baby babble 🙂

Leave a Reply

